Faculty of Geology, Mining and Petroleum

The Department of Geology, Mining, Oil and Gas Engineering (until 2011 - Mining and Geological Department) was among the first departments founded at the university in 1907. The glory of the Department is associated with the names of such outstanding scientists and academicians as A.A. Skochinsky, P.N. Chirvinsky, A.V. Pack, P.A. Makhin, P.N. Torsky, A.G. Kobilev, E.V. Posokhov. The Department graduates M.A. Frolov and A.G. Kobilev were rectors of NPI in later years.

            The Department now:

The Department consists of 3 chairs. Over 750 students are trained in 5 specialties (10 specializations). During the existence of the Department, over 11,000 mining engineers have been trained who work in all parts of our country and abroad. 96 teachers including 21 professors and Doctors of Science, 50 associate professors and Candidates of Science are involved in the educational process at the Department.

The Departments has the largest specialized geological museum in the Southern Federal District. 95 thousand exhibits of the museum tell about the natural diversity of not only our region, but of the whole world. The first exhibits had been brought by the professors of the Warsaw Polytechnic Institute, then the Cossacks supplemented them, buying rare specimens of stones abroad. The museum has been replenishing due to long-term expeditions of the Department staff and students, as well as due to author’s collections and gifts of graduates. Many of the samples and collections are unique and are only available at the SRSPU (NPI).